Alice in Chains Jar of Flies CD

  • Sale
  • Regular price $10.99

Jar of Flies is the third studio EP by the American rock band Alice in Chains, released on January 25, 1994, through Columbia Records. This is Alice in Chains' second acoustic EP, preceded by 1992's Sap, and it is the first EP in music history to debut at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart, with the first week sales exceeding 141,000 copies in the United States. The EP was self-produced by the band and recorded over the course of a week at the London Bridge Studio in Seattle. The tracks "No Excuses", "I Stay Away" and "Don't Follow" were released as singles to promote the album. Jar of Flies was nominated for two Grammy Awards in 1995; Best Recording Package and Best Hard Rock Performance for "I Stay Away".

The EP was well received by critics and has been certified triple-platinum by the RIAA, selling 4 million copies worldwide, making Jar of Flies one of the band's most successful releases. In Canada, Jar of Flies was certified double-platinum for the sale of 200,000 copies. In Great Britain, the album was certified silver after selling 60,000 copies. This is a constant rotator in the sound system here at the 'Parlor so we'll ship this to yours free of charge as long as you reside in the US!

No. Title Lyrics Music Length
1. "Rotten Apple"   Cantrell, Mike Inez 6:58
2. "Nutshell"   Cantrell, Inez, Sean Kinney 4:19
3. "I Stay Away"   Cantrell, Inez 4:14
4. "No Excuses" Cantrell   4:15
5. "Whale & Wasp" [instrumental]   2:37
6. "Don't Follow" Cantrell   4:22
7. "Swing on This"   Cantrell, Inez, Kinney 4:04
Total length: 30:49